With stunning knowledge and sharp vulnerability, Cortney Lamar Charleston has rendered a classical epic of love, war, and self-discovery, in the tradition of Milton, Homer, and Virgil if they were Bone Thugs-n-Harmony.

—Morgan Parker, author of Magical Negro

“Cortney Lamar Charleston burns his signature into these stanzas. With an unrelenting intimacy, he dares us into a narrative we think we know—Black boy vs. the scheming wiles of the city vs. the rest of his life—then backhand slaps us toward a singular experience marked by choices that can only guide the life of one man.”

—Patricia Smith, author of Incendiary Art

“Cortney Lamar Charleston is one of our most necessary observers of Black boyhood in all its beauty and difficulty. These poems sing to us of us.”

—Nate Marshall, author of Finna

Doppelgangbanger by Cortney Lamar Charleston

$20.00Price
  • All items are final sale.

  • Brew & Forge books are shipped by the participating authors who donate them. Shipping is free to US addresses only. Books will ship within 30 days of purchase through standard mail. If earlier shipping is requested, please select this option in the product page before you check out.